Once again, it’s been a long time since I managed to get a post written! I’ve been so busy and since I didn’t think anyone wanted to read “Today Donovan had a ball game”. “Today Paige had dance and then we went to Tessa’s game and then Paige’s game” over and over I just didn’t bother. Our entire family is exhausted all the time…it’s ridiculous. The kids haven’t been to bed on time in weeks and once we get home from whichever ball game we’ve been to that night and get kids to bed Jon and I just collapse and are barely ambitious enough to change the channel when needed. A long weekend is exactly what everyone needs.
The exhaustion has taken it’s toll on me. Last Friday was the day Paige’s teacher said she could take in her birthday snack. (Seriously, I would not be sad if they just ignored the summer birthdays!) We had two ball games Thursday night and I didn’t want to stay up all night so I baked the cupcakes that morning. After we got the kids to bed I started frosting. As I’m frosting I start counting cupcakes. Her teacher asked for 24 snacks so I baked 24 cupcakes. So why the hell do I now only have 22? I can’t even tell you how long I wandered around the house looking for those 2 cupcakes. I assumed I had wandered off to do something with them in my hand and put them down somewhere. Not that I ever do that! Then I thought Jon & Tessa must have each had one when they came home from Paige’s game a little early. Nope, I finally figure that the stupid-ass dog must have stolen two. I have cut down the amount of food she gets and she seems to be resentful. I keep all food pushed way back on the counter but I must have left two on the edge. Now, I am not proud of how I reacted. Seriously, I cried. Real crying. It was freakin’ 10:30 and I needed two more damn cupcakes. Jon took pity on me and mixed them up. I cannot tell you how pissed I was that Paige brought home five of those stupid cupcakes!
Meanwhile that night, while I was trying to frost those cupcakes I was fighting with Donovan. He had a science test Friday and was not studying. He was being a giant pain in the ass to be honest. In the middle of all the studying he suddenly grabbed his face and started yelling and crying. His eye hurt, it was really red and he couldn’t keep it open. He had been playing on the school playground during Paige’s game so I figured he had sand in his eye. We rinsed that eye out over and over and finally he decided he could go to bed. The next morning he said it still hurt and it still felt like there was something in it. I assumed he was trying to get out that science test. I told him I would call the eye doctor but if he was lying he was going to look like a fool. The doctor removed two pieces of sand from his eye that she said were stuck enough that they wouldn’t have come out on their own. Guess it’s a good thing I didn’t blow him off!
We are all looking forward to the long weekend. We’re all heading up to Big Lake tomorrow. Jon and the kids will stay until Mon. but I’m coming back tomorrow night to stay with the dog. I’m looking forward to my alone time. Does that make me bad mom? I hope not, I need a break.



No comments:
Post a Comment