Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Summer is too short!

Today I came to the conclusion that this summer just is not long enough!  That’s pretty bad for the longest summer break we’ll have for quite some time.  After a great recital weekend dance is over for the year.  We still have two weeks of ball.   By the time that’s over, June will be almost over.  Last week we signed Donovan up to play football this fall.  He’s playing on a rocket football team in St. Louis.  His practices start in August.  That means our summer is basically July.  We got the calendar out tonight to plan some vacation time.  We have been waiting to schedule our trip to Virginia until the Canada fishing trip got scheduled.  We ended up tentatively deciding on a date for Virginia.  We’ll be gone for the 4th of July for almost a week if we can get someone to watch the dog that long.  We are having trouble getting time for camping figured out.  We’ll get a least a couple trips in, they’ll just be last minute type trips.   I don’t know how we’ll manage a trip to Higgins Lake.

The kids are thrilled to be on summer break now.  They slept until almost 9 today, which is pretty late for my kids.   I got them signed up for the summer reading program through the library and they are doing the reading challenge the school gives them every year.  We went to the library today and the girls both got 5 books.  Donovan doesn’t like anything, I found lots of sports books but he wasn’t interested.  We will also be working on some math to keep them on track for next year.  The girls have both set some dance related goals this summer too.  Paige is continuing to work on her splits.  She can’t quite get the one-leg-in-front splits yet so will work on those.  Tessa wants to learn to skip because that is a skill she will need next year.  Paige also wants to learn to do a cartwheel and a handstand and she’s still working on riding a two-wheeler.   Jon and I are losing patience with her on this so hopefully she gets it soon.  Donovan has no goals…that’s typical.  Oh, unless he has secretly set a goal to talk until we go crazy, he’s well on his way with that. 

Monday, May 25, 2009

Memorial Day Weekend

Well, considering that our plans were very up in the air for awhile, we ended up having a pretty nice weekend.  Our main problem was that Donovan’s coach was trying to schedule a make-up game for either Friday night or Saturday morning.  We couldn’t make any plans until we knew one way or another.   Since we hadn’t heard anything by Saturday morning we felt free to move on with our weekend.  It was very frustrating to not know what was going on.  Saturday we all went to Mark & Linda’s cottage.  The weather turned out so nice, the kids even went swimming!  After roasting a hot dog over the campfire I headed home to finish off my weekend with Daisy.

I feel bad that I enjoy my time here alone as much as I do.  I got up both days and went for a walk with Daisy.  I went shopping Sunday and then did some cleaning and yard work.  Monday I mowed the lawn and did some other things outside.  It was just so nice to do what I wanted, when I wanted and not worry about feeding kids and keeping them from killing each other.  When I cleaned, it stayed clean! 

It was nice to have them all home again today.  I do miss them when they are gone!

Donovan ended up having a low-key but nice birthday.  He was happy, and that alone feels like a  miracle these days.   I’m having a hard time believing that he’s nine.  It’s been a big year for him.  He seems to have overcome a lot of the struggles he’s had with reading.  He has all but stopped playing with toys and is only really interested in sports, sports cards and video games.  Does this mean that he’s a tween?  His personality has changed so much.  He has become pretty obnoxious, which we could live without.  He can be pretty darn funny too.  He’s been working on perfecting the fine art of sarcasm, which makes Jon and I very proud!  We definitely know he’s ours!   I can’t wait to see who he becomes in the coming years.

Friday, May 22, 2009

I’ve been neglectful!

Once again, it’s been a long time since I managed to get a post written!  I’ve been so busy and since I didn’t think anyone wanted to read “Today Donovan had a ball game”.  “Today Paige had dance and then we went to Tessa’s game and then Paige’s game” over and over I just didn’t bother.  Our entire family is exhausted all the time…it’s ridiculous.  The kids haven’t been to bed on time in weeks and once we get home from whichever ball game we’ve been to that night and get kids to bed Jon and I just collapse and are barely ambitious enough to change the channel when needed.  A long weekend is exactly what everyone needs.

The exhaustion has taken it’s toll on me.  Last Friday was the day Paige’s teacher said she could take in her birthday snack.  (Seriously, I would not be sad if they just ignored the summer birthdays!)  We had two ball games Thursday night and I didn’t want to stay up all night so I baked the cupcakes that morning.  After we got the kids to bed I started frosting.  As I’m frosting I start counting cupcakes.  Her teacher asked for 24 snacks so I baked 24 cupcakes.  So why the hell do I now only have 22?  I can’t even tell you how long I wandered around the house looking for those 2 cupcakes.  I assumed I had wandered off to do something with them in my hand and put them down somewhere.  Not that I ever do that!  Then I thought Jon & Tessa must have each had one when they came home from Paige’s game a little early.   Nope, I finally figure that the stupid-ass dog  must have stolen two.   I have cut down the amount of food she gets and she seems to be resentful.  I keep all food pushed way back on the counter but I must have left two on the edge.  Now, I am not proud of how I reacted.  Seriously, I cried.  Real crying.  It was freakin’ 10:30 and I needed two more damn cupcakes.  Jon took pity on me and mixed them up.  I cannot tell you how pissed I was that Paige brought home five of  those stupid cupcakes!

Meanwhile that night, while I was trying to frost those cupcakes I was fighting with Donovan.  He had a science test Friday and was not studying.  He was being a giant pain in the ass to be honest.  In the middle of all the studying he suddenly grabbed his face and started yelling and crying.  His eye hurt, it was really red and he couldn’t keep it open.  He had been playing on the school playground during Paige’s game so I figured he had sand in his eye.  We rinsed that eye out over and over and finally he decided he could go to bed.  The next morning he said it still hurt and it still felt like there was something in it.  I assumed he was trying to get out that science test.  I told him I would call the eye doctor but if he was lying he was going to look like a fool.  The doctor removed two pieces of sand from his eye that she said were stuck enough that they wouldn’t have come out on their own.  Guess it’s a good thing I didn’t blow him off!

We are all looking forward to the long weekend.  We’re all heading up to Big Lake tomorrow.   Jon and the kids will stay until Mon. but I’m coming back tomorrow night to stay with the dog.  I’m looking forward to my alone time.  Does that make me bad mom?  I hope not, I need a break. 

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Ball Season

Well, ball season has started for Donovan and Paige. Tessa starts next week. This is what our calendar for this week looks like this:

Monday: Donovan-ball practice
Tuesday: Donovan and Paige-religion, Paige-ball practice
Wednesday: Donovan-ball practice
Thursday: Paige-dance, Paige-ball practice
Friday: Jon and I go to the Red Wings game!!!!

Guess which day I'm actually excited about!

The Monday thru Thursday schedule will pretty much be our life until the third week of June. We are thinking about celebrating ball being over by going to Alabama for Katie H.'s wedding. We haven't decided about that yet. We are planning a trip to Virginia this summer and can't decide if we want to take two big driving trips in two months.

Saturday, April 18, 2009

Such a Nice Day

Today was such a great day,  the weather was beautiful!  We got some things done that needed to be done and did some fun stuff too!  This morning I took Paige shopping.  The child needed some clothes for summer.  I have been getting out summer clothes and going through everybody’s things to see what still fit and where we were lacking.  Donovan seems to be able to wear summer clothes forever so he’s not doing too bad.  The biggest issue with him is how picky he’s getting and his changing  “style”.  Tessa has so many clothes I’m not sure I’ll be able to fit them all in her drawer.    She’s pretty much set, although I always find things here and there that I have to have for her.  Paige had the most pathetic little stack of summer clothes I have ever seen.  She’s starting to have definite ideas about her clothes and is a little picky about how her clothes feel, plus I didn’t know what size she needed for sure so I needed her to go along.  She got quite a few adorable outfits, but mostly clearance and the “Jumping Beans” stuff from Kohl's so I didn’t have to spend a ton of money.  She was most excited about getting a new bathing suit and a pair of flip flops with frogs on them.  It was a nice “mother/daughter outing”.

When I got home I cleaned out the garage that had hardly been looked at since Tessa’s party.  I got tables set up for the garage sale and got all my tubs of garage sale stuff in the garage.  I’ll start pricing tomorrow. 

Tessa practiced hitting and Donovan played catch with Jon for a while.  Moving up a level is proving a little tricky for Donovan so Jon worked on a few specific things with him.  Donovan has practice again tomorrow and Paige has her first practice Tuesday.  We got a call from Tessa’s coach but there aren’t any practices scheduled yet.  Ball season is under way!

We got some yard work done, Jon and I played some basketball with Donovan (that’s quite a sight, I’m sure!) and the girls and I took the fat dog for a walk around “the loop”.  The fat dog has been exhausted ever since so that did it’s job.  She’s much less annoying when we’ve tired her out.

Now, the kids are all in bed and we just finished watching the Red Wings kick ass in the play-offs so it’s a good ending to a nice day!

Monday, April 6, 2009

Carnival Time

Well, I think we managed to pull off the carnival party pretty well.  Tessa and Leah seemed to think it was great fun to share a party and I think all the kids had fun.  Shelley had fun doing the face painting and she did such a great job!  And Nick and Eric ended up being pretty good carnies! 

Ryan at the duck pond

DSC03817 

Shelley painting faces

DSC03816

Tessa opening Barbie Thumbelina

DSC03806

Nick making Maddie hold his beer

DSC03808

I’ve got more pictures on my Facebook page if you’re interested.

Monday, March 23, 2009

It's been a while!

I know, I know, I haven't written anything in a long time. Not for any real reason either. Sure, I've been busy but just with basic, everyday stuff. I just haven't been very motivated. I still don't have much to say but I can let you know what's been going on with us.

Paige went to the doctor a week ago and he was pleased with how her arm is healing. She goes back next Monday and he seemed optimistic that her cast would come off then. Now if we could get her mood fixed we'd be all set. She's always been dramatic but lately, holy cow! Last Thursday she cried all the way to dance because she didn't have a snack to eat in the car. Not that she didn't have a snack, that she didn't have one in the car. Because the girl ate from the time she came home until it was time to leave. She got herself so worked up that when we got there she refused to go into ballet. Miss Jillian (the owner) came over to talk to her and wanted to sign her cast and Paige wouldn't let her. I finally opened the studio door and PUT her in class. She sat next to the door the entire time and would not dance. I was MAD. She did join in during tap class and acted like nothing ever happened. She is sooo stubborn! We had a big talk about how she has a responsibility to the girls in her class to do her best and how each class is important because they are learning their dance for recital and blah, blah, blah. We are also going to figure out how much that class cost us and make her work off that amount. We want her to understand that this is not cheap and she needs to take it seriously. Who knows if that will work.

Donovan had try-outs for summer ball. He is trying to move up from where he is supposed to be (based on age) so he can play with his classmates. The cut-off date is May 1 so he misses it by three weeks. Every other year is one level behind his class. Most of the rest of his class will be playing with the 9-10 year olds so he thought he'd try out for that level. Unfortunately they have more boys than usual signed up. They decided to add a team so that's good news. The bad news is that he got really nervous and didn't do as well as he could have. Jon also heard somebody say they don't have enough kids for the level he is supposed to play at. Jon said there were a lot of kids better than him and a lot of kids worse than him. If those kids that were worse than him are actually 9 or 10, I would imagine they would get the spots before him. I guess we just wait and see. Right now he says he's not playing if he can't move up, again we'll have to wait and see.

Tessa has continued on her quest to try and get the kids taken away from us. After her encounter with the deer antler she has run into a wall (damn thing jumped right out in front of her!) and fallen off our bed onto the wood floor resulting in a goose-egg and then lovely bruise on her forehead. She also seems to have decided that it wasn't good enough to carry the Terrible 2's through the 3's, it appears she is gearing up to barrel straight on into the 4's. She has just been a stinker lately. The problems seem to mostly involve food. She thinks she needs to eat all. the. time. Her favorite meal? Corn. Seriously, I ask her what she wants for lunch, she tells me "A can of corn". Fortunately for her, she is freaking hilarious. She is so funny, she has us all laughing all the time.

The big thing we're gearing up for is her birthday party that she's sharing with Leah. The carnival theme is a lot of fun to work with. All the kids (and Leah, who's here so much she feels like one of ours) are sooo excited about it. They are full of helpful suggestions about games and prizes. And they keep offering lots of motivation to get things done. Donovan told me the other day that if I didn't go work on the ticket booth right now we were not having a party. Nice. It's good to see that he does hear me when I talk. He can spit back exactly what I would say to them, it's too bad he never listens to me. So he's hearing but not listening. Still better than Jon who doesn't even hear me when I talk.

I've been trying to figure out something we can do for spring break. Donovan is the only one with any suggestions. His were Virginia, Chicago or Georgia. We're going to Virginia this summer, I'm not ready to do Chicago with the kids again yet (it's only been 16 months since the last time, talk to me in 3 years) and Georgia? He doesn't know of anything to do in Georgia, he just wants to go there. I wanted to go to Columbus to go to COSI but apparently I am a big science geek and nobody else thinks that would be fun. That was Jon's take on it. He has no ideas so he is not helpful.

Jon has been trying to figure out how to work 60 hours a week and also go ice fishing on a regular basis. He is failing on both counts. He only works 50 -57 hours an week and has only been fishing twice in the last two weeks. Pretty soon I'll have to get him an anti-depressant to deal with this failure. Oh, and he has also been dealing with me while I prepare for the birthday party and while I nag him daily about ordering the laptop he promised me for my birthday. So I guess he earned some credit there. He lost it when I discovered that he managed to order waders for himself but still has not ordered my laptop, or the ceiling tiles for the landing that he was going to order two months ago.

So that's what's been going on around here. I've got a ton to do to get ready for the birthday party so I probably won't be back before then but I'll post some pics afterwards.


Edited to add: I guess I was wrong about not having much to say!